Paris is Calling

The time is coming to decide whether or not I want to study abroad, and for how long, and where. I’ve always wanted to study abroad in Paris, but seeing as I’ve only taken one actual course in French, I know the language barrier may be a problem. I’ve never heard anyone say they regretted studying abroad, but I’m nervous! I know if I study abroad for a semester there will be plenty of trips to go on and plenty of exploring in Paris itself.

Then the question is for how long. I can go a semester (next spring) or next summer, if I don’t want to go away for so long. The problem with summer is that it costs extra for tuition (try like $6000 extra) and it would mess with my summer internship prospects that I would need for my resume when I graduate. It definitely wouldn’t be as risky, and I don’t think I’d be as nervous, but isn’t that the point of studying abroad? To take a risk?

It’s not like this would be a big vacation either- I’d be taking classes while taking an opportunity that I realistically wouldn’t get for the rest of my life. If I went during the spring I’d be paying normal in-state tuition at USC, so it wouldn’t require as big of a financial change and commitment.

What do y’all think? Have y’all ever studied abroad or knew someone who did? How did it go? I’m really curious!

Photos via Pinterest
8 Comments

Filed under Life, Photography

8 responses to “Paris is Calling

  1. Wow, these are some amazing photos. The lighting and compositions are just beautiful. I understand why you’d be conflicted about studying abroad in Paris, especially if you don’t speak the language. But if I had that opportunity, I would do it in a heartbeat.

    • That’s what I’m thinking! I don’t want to look back and wish I had done something a little out of my comfort zone. I was pretty good at French the one semester, so I feel like, especially being immersed in it, that I’ll kind of be forced to learn the language. At least that’s what I’ve heard from others traveling abroad.

  2. I definitely want to! I’m just worried that I’ll get homesick and not enjoy it as much as I should. I couldn’t wait to come home and see friends when I lived in Charleston, and I don’t want to feel like that in Paris if I’m there for 4 months!

  3. the girl with the pink skirt is from PFW….so impressing! Great post!!! xxx

  4. I did a semester abroad in Asia. You will get homesick when you go away that long but it does pass as soon as you get comfortable in your new place. Then right when you really start to love being there, the semester will be over and you’ll wish you weren’t leaving 🙂

    From Brooklyn with love,

    Jen

  5. Home will be there when you return. I have never regretted travel. EVER. With Skype, e-mail, cheap tele-calling AND snail mail, you CAN do it AND stay in touch! Besides, it’ll make for great blogging 🙂

  6. I loved, loved, loved my study abroad experiences! I would highly recommend it. I went to Iran and Scotland and don’t regret one moment of either trip. I would totally do Paris if I had the chance. Down the line, you will be so happy you did!

Leave a Reply

