Southern Bow Tie Style

I cannot express my deep, deep love for bow ties. As this past weekend was the Carolina Cup, I think this post is especially relevant. I don’t know what it is about them, but when I see a boy wearing a bow tie I automatically think of old Carolina (not that those were necessarily good times…i.e. racism, slavery, sexism, etc.) when men and women would dress up and go to dances or something…you know? It makes me think of my grandpa when he was younger. And fried chicken in the backyard with lemonade. If I don’t have a son someday I’m going to be really upset…I need a son to buy bow ties for.

What do y’all think of bow ties? They’re really popular in the south, but I’m not sure about the rest of the country. Do bow ties transcend past the Mason Dixie line?

Bow ties from Brooks Brothers, Southern Proper, Vineyard Vines, High Cotton, and Amazon
3 Comments

Filed under Fashion, Life

3 responses to “Southern Bow Tie Style

  1. Clare

    I love bowties. I am especially fond of them because my dad wears them all the time.
    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

Leave a Reply

