The perils of having a DSLR that doesn’t have a low enough aperture

Although I’m super thrilled I added three new members to my shoe family, my inability to take cool pictures of my Christmas tree brought me down a bit today. I’m obsessed with the Cupcakes and Cashmere blog and a few days ago the blogger, also an Emily (coincidence? I think not) posted this picture of her Christmas tree:

image from Cupcakes and Cashmere

Since my Christmas tree has colored lights I thought it would make for some really pretty pictures, right? The answer is nope. Not with my camera. I’ve been taking pictures since high school with super nice cameras, but after I graduated I realized how flat my point and shoot camera fell. This summer I bought a Nikon D3100 camera and I’ve loved it! Until today. Emily S. posted this link to learn how to create the heart bokeh. Unfortunately, my camera doesn’t recognize the heart-shaped bokeh because the aperture can’t get low enough. So for now, I must accept these pictures of my tree:

Can you kind of see the sideways hearts?

I'm a little proud of this one...the hearts are upright!

Leave a comment

Filed under Photography

Leave a Reply

